North Orissa University

Established in 1998 and recognised in 2000, North Orissa University caters to the higher education needs of Mayurbhanj and Keonjhar districts of the northern part of Odisha. The population of this region is mainly tribal and the University has been making sincere efforts to groom the underprivileged youth of this region thereby enabling them to make their presence felt in the national mainstream of art, culture, science and technology.

It is also recognized by the Bar Council of India and Open & Distance Learning (ODL) programme of UGC. North Orissa University is included in the list of Association of Indian Universities, New Delhi and Association of Commonwealth Universities, London. 

Cuurently,  there are 92 colleges of Mayurbhanj and Keonjhar Districts are affiliated to this University including three autonomous colleges and two Law colleges. The University at Sriram Chandra Vihar provides Post Graduate education in eleven subjects through eleven regular departments besides plans to open two more new regular courses viz. Geology and Material science in the second campus. 
Courses in Main Campus (at Baripada in Mayurbhanj)

Central Library of North Orissa University

Established in 2001, the library is a centre for knowledge advancement in the fields of non-conventional subjects relevant to this part of the state such as Tribal Studies, Wild-life & conservation Biology, Remote sensing & GIS, conventional subjects such as Botany, Chemistry, Physics, Zoology and Economics. The library also has books which are helpful for students who want to pursue courses in  Biotechnology, Bioinformatics, Environmental Management & Technology, Computer Science and management and LLM.

The library has 23880 text and reference books in different subjects besides books of common interest. At present the library is subscribing for 75 journals and 24 magazines.

Courses in Main Campus (at Baripada in Mayurbhanj)

Regular P.G. Courses
  • Biotechnology
  • Botany
  • Chemistry
  • Master in Computer Application (Selection in MCA is as per Odisha JEE)
  • Economics
  • Physics
  • Santali 
  • Zoology

M.Phil. Courses
  • Biotechnology
  • Botany
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Economics
  • Physics
  • Santali
  • Zoology

Self Financing PG Courses

  • Anthropology & Tribal Studies
  • Business Administration (Selection in MBA is as per Odisha JEE)
  • Computer Science
  • Education
  • English
  •  Hindi 
  • Integrated B.Ed.-M.Ed
  • Library & Information Science
  • Mathematics
  • Odia
  •  Remote Sensing and GIS
  •  Sanskrit,
  • Social Work
  • Wildlife & Biodiversity
  • Conservation
  •  Yoga & Naturopathy

Admission to M.A. in Odia under SF mode in NOU main campus is subject to approval by the Govt.of Odisha.

Courses in Second Campus (at Suleikhamar in Keonjhar)

Regular P.G. Course

  • English
  • Geology
  • Material Science
  • Odia
  • Sanskrit

M.Phil. Courses

  • English
  • Odia
  • Sanskrit

For subjects available at both the campus, a candidate has to apply separately and appear at Entrance Test only in the Main Campus at Baripada.

Pre-Ph.D. Courses
All subjects as specified in the North Orissa University Ph.D. Regulations, available on the website.

Affiliated Colleges of North Orissa University

Mayurbhanj District

General Colleges

  • MPC (A) College, Baripada, Mayurbhanj
  • Rairangpur College, Rairangpur, Mayurbhanj
  • Karanjia College, Karanjia, Mayurbhanj
  • Udala College, Udala, Mayurbhanj
  • Govt. Women’s College, Baripada, Mayurbhanj
  • U.N.College, Nalagaja,Mayurbhanj
  • Seemanta Mahavidyalaya, Jharpokharia, Mayurbhanj
  • Jashipur College College, Jashipur, Mayurbhanj
  • Betnoti College, Betnoti, Mayurbhanj
  • Barsahi Panchayat Samiti College, Barsahi, Mayurbhanj
  • Chitrada College ,Chitrada, Mayurbhanj
  • Anchalika Mahavidyalaya, Gadia, Mayurbhanj
  • Sahid Memorial Degree College, Manida, Mayurbhanj
  • Mahila Mahavidyalaya, Rairangpur,Mayurbhanj
  • B.B.College, Baiganbadia, Mayurbhanj
  • A.P. College, Raruan,Mayurbhanj
  • Dhirangi Lal Degree College, Bahalda, Mayurbhanj
  • Meghasani College, Nudadiha, Mayurbhanj
  • S.S. Mahavidyalaya, Kuamara, Mayurbhanj
  • Utkal Banani Snataka Mahavidyalaya, Chakasuliapada, Mayurbhanj
  • Kaptipada College, Kaptipada, Mayurbhanj
  • Laxmikanta College, Bangiriposi, Mayurbhanj
  • Sri Maa Mahila Mahilavidyalaya, Baripada, Mayurbhanj
  • Indira Gandhi Mahila Mahavidyalaya, Udala, Mayurbhanj
  • Anchalika Mahavidyalaya, Puruna Baripada, Mayurbhanj
  • Sukruli College, Sukruli, Mayurbhanj
  • Panchayat Samiti Degree College, Suliapada, Mayurbhanj
  • Maa Basuli Mahavidyalaya, Thakurmunda, Mayurbhanj
  • Luipa Mahavidyalaya, Radho, Mayurbhanj
  • Mahatma Gandhi Mahavidyalaya, Baisinga, Mayurbhanj
  • Khunta Mahavidyalaya, Khunta, Mayurbhanj
  • Raghunath Mahavidyalaya, Kadadiha, Mayurbhanj
  • Sriram Chandra Bhanja +3 degree College, Ragdha, Mayurbhanj
  • Badampahad Degree College, Badampahad, Mayurbhanj
  • Kalinga College, Manada, Mayurbhanj
  • Bana Bhumi Mahavidyalaya, Rangamatia, Mayurbhanj
  • Panchapir +3 women’s College, Karanjia, Mayurbhanj
  • Jamda Anchalika Amhavidyalaya, Talagaon, Jamda, Mayurbhanj
  • Gorumohisani Iron College, Gorumohisani, Mayurbhanj
  • RDS Mahavidyalaya, Kundabai, Mayurbhanj
  • Baripada College, Baripada, Mayurbhanj
  • Kaptipada College, Nuasahi, Kaptipada

Technical Colleges

  • Utkal Mani Gopabandhu B.Ed. Training College, Takatpur, Baripada
  • Mayurbhanj Law College, Baripada, Mayurbhanj
  • Mayurbhanj Ayurved Mahavidyalaya, Baripada, Mayurbhanj
  • Mayurbhanj Homoeopathic Medical College & Hospital, Baripada
  • North Orissa School of communication & Management Studies, Baripada
  • Seemanta Engineering College, Jharpokharia,Mayurbhanj
  • Seemanta Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Jharpokharia, Mayurbhanj
  • Regional College of Physical Education, Baripada, Mayurbhanj
  • Mayurbhanj College of Accountancy & Management, Baripada, Mayurbhanj
  • Asutosh Maharaj College of Management and Technology, Baripada


Keonjhar District

  • Dharanidhar College(A), Keonjhar Garh, Keonjhar
  • Anandapur College, Anandapur, Keonjhar
  • C.S. College, Champua, Keonjhar
  • TT Mahavidyalaya, Ghatgaon, Keonjhar
  • Govt. Women’s College, Keonjhar Garh, Keonjhar
  • Barbil College, Barbil, Keonjhar
  • Kanaka Manjari women’s College, Anandapur,
  • Remuli College, Remuli, Keonjhar
  • Kusleswar Anchalika Mahavidyalaya, Kochiahandi, Keonjhar
  • Anchalika Mahavidyalaya, Hatadihi, Keonjhar
  • Anchalika Mahavidyalaya, Swampatna, Keonjhar
  • BB Mahavidyalaya, Harichandanpur, Keonjhar
  • Charigarh Mahavidyalaya, Telkoi, Keonjhar
  • PS College, Jhumpura, Keonjhar
  • Joda Women’s College, Joda, Keonjhar
  • BT Women’s College, Chhenapadi, Keonjhar
  • Baula +3 degree College, Soro, Keonjhar
  • Mahapat Mahavidyalaya, Janghira, Keonjhar
  • Anchalika Mahavidyalaya, Padmapur, Keonjhar
  • Jagannath Mahavidyalaya, Nayagarh, Keonjhar
  • Patitapaban Mahavidyalaya, Sainkul, Keonjhar
  • Regional Degree College, Udaypur, Keonjhar
  • Dadhibaman College, Turumunga, Keonjhar
  • Salabani GP College, Salabani, Keonjhar
  • Laxmi Narayan Degree College, Pipilia, Keonjhar
  • Santosi Maa Regional College, Jharbelda, Keonjhar
  • Patteswar Mohavidyalaya, Suakati, Keonjhar

Technical Colleges

  • Anandapur Anchalika Training College, Fakirpur, Keonjhar
  • Keonjhar Law College, Keonjhar


Sri Ram Chandra Vihar, Takatpur, Baripada,
Odisha 757003
Phone: 06792 256 906

Connect me with the Top Colleges